Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI v Whitchurch on Sat 29 Aug 2009 at 13.30
Lewdown Cricket Club Won by 9 wickets

Match report Going into this last game of the season Lewdown knew that 19points would guarantee them promotion, unfortunately so did Whitchurch, who after losing the toss decided to try and spoil rather than make a total that they could defend, they were quite successful in this form of cricket and scored 114 runs off the bat in 46 overs with the Lewdown bowlers gifting them another 44 in extras, the Whitchurch total being 158 but more importantly for only 7 wickets, meaning Lewdown would only get a maximum 18 points. Adee Edmonds was the pick of Lewdown’s bowlers with 3-34.

The Lewdown reply was positive from the off, Mevan Porage (23) being the only wicket to fall, Kris Harris hitting a fine 72 n.o and Jack Skuse 29 n.o reaching the 159 target off just 28 overs. Lewdown 18pts, Whitchurch 3pts. Unfortunately the news came that Thorverton had gained the maximum 20 points in their game against Yelverton meaning both Lewdown and Thorverton finished on 252 points, with both teams also having 9 wins it is Thorverton taking the 2nd promotion spot because of 1 extra winning draw, Lewdown can feel a little hard done by as the extra winning draw was gained while Lewdown were rained off.

While disappointed, many positive’s have been gained from this season with the club, in all areas, going from strength to strength and the team, if they all stick together will surely gain promotion in the near future. Congratulations to Hatherleigh and Thorverton on their promotion and of course to Whitchurch for saving themselves the extra travelling distance for next season.

Whitchurch Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 7 wickets
158 (0.0 overs)
R Hall b  A Edmonds 3
F Frost Run out  18
E Smith ct  P Yeo b K Harris 11
J Newton ct  C Hughes b M Porage 33
A Churchill b  A Edmonds 29
M Credicott b  C Hughes 12
T Sherrill b  A Edmonds 1
W Power Not Out  12
J Heatley Not Out  0

Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Phil Yeo13.013500.002.69
Adrian Edmonds10.0134311.333.40
Charlie Hughes7.0128128.004.00
Kris Harris8.0219119.002.37
Mevan Porage8.0032132.004.00

Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 1 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Kris Harris Not Out  72
Mevan Porage b  D Rushton 23
Jack Skuse Not Out  29 1
Harry Geering  
Justin Gliddon  
Matt Witcher  
Phil Yeo   1
Carl Weeks  
Will Hodgetts  
Charlie Hughes   1
Adrian Edmonds  

Whitchurch Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

  • Umpire :
    Dave Pearse
  • Scorer :
    Elaine Hayden