Whitchurch v Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 20 Jun 2009 at 14.00
Lewdown Cricket Club Won by 5 wickets

Match report After last weeks defeat it was important for Lewdown to back on track against local rivals Whitchurch.
Lewdown won the toss and put Whitchurch in to bat, the opening bowlers of Phil Yeo and Toby Street quickly got into their stride and had the hosts struggling at 29-3, Martin Credicott (55) and Freddie Frost (31) steadied the ship and got Whitchurch up to 149-5 with 10 overs to go, the re-introduction of Toby Street put paid to Whitchurch scoring over 200 with a devastating spell of 4-15 with Whitchurch totaling 174, Street finishing with fine figures of 6-38 and Phil Yeo 2-31.
The Lewdown run chase started with a wobble at 35-3 after 10. Recently arrived Sri Lankan Mevan Porage wasted no time as he dispatched the ball to all parts of the ground, scoring a fine 67 (62 in boundarys) off just 45 balls and with ex Whitchurch player Matt Witcher(15) put on 78 for the 4th wicket, with those two out in quick succession it was left to Justin Gliddon(37n.o) and Ant Weeks(22n.o) to see Lewdown comfortably home with 16 overs to spare.
A much improved performance over last week and an important maximum 20 points gained which keeps Lewdown in 2nd spot, 5 points behind leaders Thorverton.
Next week home to Ottery St Mary

Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 5 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Kris Harris ct Rushton 1
Ed Squire ct Rushton 22
Harry Geering Run out  0
Mevan Porage ct McCrae 67 1
Matt Witcher ct McCrae 15
Justin Gliddon Not Out  37 2 1
Ant Weeks Not Out  22
Toby Street   1
Phil Yeo  
Adrian Clements  
Charlie Hughes  

Whitchurch Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
D Sambells9.015400.006.00
D Rushton6.0120210.003.33
O McCrae7.0033216.504.71
F Frost1.001900.0019.00
S Daymond7.012800.004.00
C Bray1.501900.0010.36

Whitchurch Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
174 (0.0 overs)
R Hall ct  J Gliddon b P Yeo 9
E Smith ct J Gliddon b T Street 0
A Churchill b T Street 10
S Daymond b P Yeo 6
M Credicott b T Street 55
T Sherrell ct T Street b K Harris 5
F Frost ct M Porage b T Street 31
O McCrae b T Street 1
C Bray Not Out  14
D Sambells ct T Street 6
D Rushton run out J Gliddon 2

Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Phil Yeo13.0331215.502.38
Toby Street10.413866.333.56
Kris Harris9.0325125.002.78
Charlie Hughes4.002500.006.25
Adrian Clements2.002400.0012.00
Mevan Porage5.002000.004.00

  • Umpire :
    Dave Pearse
  • Scorer :
    Elaine Hayden