Babbacombe v Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 30 May 2009 at 14.00
Lewdown Cricket Club Won by 8 wickets

Match report Lewdown maintained their unbeaten start to the season at a scorching hot Babbacombe on Saturday with a comfortable 8 wicket win. Captain Charlie Hughes again won the toss and elected to field and Lewdown were soon in the driving seat when Phil Yeo took three early wickets with an impressive opening spell. Babbacombe's batsmen then steadied the ship with a 75 partnership before Charlie Hughes took his first wicket. Babbacombe lost their remaining wickets regularly thanks to Phil Yeo 4-48, Charlie Hughes 3-45 and Adie Edmonds 2-33. Lewdown were pleased to contain Babbacombe to a total of 184 although with better fielding and less extras (Lewdown's Achilles heel) the figure could have been greatly reduced. When Lewdown batted they were once again indebted to their opening batsmen who gave them a great start with a 63 partnership. Harry Geering soon followed Kris Harris (36) but when Justin Gliddon (69 not out) joined opener Ed Squire (52 not out) they steered Lewdown home with a superb unbroken stand of 120 to ensure that Lewdown remained top of the table with another maximum 20 points.

Babbacombe Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
184 (0.0 overs)
M Thompson ct  P Yeo 10
S Crocker ct  C Hughes 38
S Porter b  P Yeo 0
S Broad ct  P Yeo 0
T Drake b  P Yeo 37
A Lockyer ct  C Hughes 19
T Ince run out  A Clements 7
S Myers ct  A Edmonds 17
T Goodwin ct  A Edmonds 4
N Sleeman Not Out  9
P Bates   C Hughes

Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Phil Yeo13.0248412.003.69
Adrian Edmonds11.0133216.503.00
Adrian Clements7.003100.004.43
Charlie Hughes12.3345315.003.60
Matt Witcher1.001100.0011.00

Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 2 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Kris Harris b  P Bates 36
Ed Squire Not Out  52 2
Harry Geering ct  T Drake 0
Justin Gliddon Not Out  69 1
Matt Witcher  
Ant Weeks   1
Carl Weeks  
Phil Yeo   2
Charlie Hughes  
Adrian Clements   1
Adrian Edmonds   1

Babbacombe Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
A Lockyer9.003700.004.11
T Goodwin8.014300.005.37
P Bates10.0231131.003.10
T Drake7.0038138.005.43
M Thompson5.002500.005.00
S Broad1.00600.006.00

  • Umpire :
    Dave Pearse
  • Scorer :
    Pauline Geering