Lewdown Cricket Club 2nd XI v Ashburton on Sat 18 Jun 2011 at 14.00
Lewdown Cricket Club Won by 1 wicket (16 pts)

Match report For the first time in 5 games Lewdown won the toss and decided to bowl first. Jake Barber (4-18) took an early wicket on what looked like good bowling track with varied bounce. Steve Butler (0-21) bowled well at the other end only going for 21 runs in 13 overs. Ashburton seemed to struggle to get to grips with the pitch scoring only 62 off 31 overs but only losing 2 wickets. With 15 overs left in their innings they decided to have a go adding another 80 runs and losing 7 wickets in the process. Anthony Lacey (50) and N. Yabsley (42) both batted well for the visitors who finished with a respectable 142 for 9. Also contributing to Lewdowns success in keeping Ashburtons runs down were Andy Vernon (3-41), Mark Gibbs (1-20) and Ian Wilson (1-22) who all bowled some good balls for their wickets.

In response Olly Brown (10) and Paul Daymond (63) got off to a flying start scoring 34 off just 6 overs before Brown gave his wicket away. That seemed to set the scene for the rest of the Lewdown batsmen as 5 of them got themselves out for less than 3. Paul Daymond batted well for his 63 and he was ably assisted by Ian Wilson who scored 36. With wickets falling consistently Ashburton smelt victory with some good bowling from R.Lambert (3-49), Will Coon (3-33). A nail biting finish saw Steve Butler (4*) and Andy Vernon (2*) see the home side through with Vernon hitting his trade mark slash over the slip cordon.

Ashburton Batting
Player name RunsMB4s6sSR
for 9 wickets
142 (0.0 overs)
A.Churchill Caught  0
V.Coon Bowled  19
A.Lacey Bowled  50
N.Yabsley Caught  42
C.Yeo Caught  3
M.Priddle Bowled  2
R.Lacey Bowled  3
R.Lambert Not Out  4
M.Parkes Caught  0
B.Bignall Bowled  0
W.Coon Not Out  0

Lewdown Cricket Club 2nd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Jake Barber9.011844.502.00
Steven Butler13.032100.001.62
Mark Gibbs9.0120120.002.22
Andrew Vernon10.0041313.674.10
Adrian Clements2.001900.009.50
Ian Wilson3.0022122.007.33

Lewdown Cricket Club 2nd XI Batting
Player Name RMB4s6sSRCatchesStumpingsRun outs
for 9 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Olly Brown Caught  10
Paul Daymond Caught  63
Mark Martyn Caught  0 1
Nick Hayden Bowled  2
Mark Gibbs Run out  0
Martyn Squire Bowled  0
Ian Wilson Bowled  36 1
Adrian Clements Caught  1
Jake Barber Bowled  16 1
Steven Butler Not Out  4 1
Andrew Vernon Not Out  2

Ashburton Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy

  • Umpire :
    Gordon Littlejohn
  • Scorer :
    Elaine Hayden