Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI v Ottery St Mary on Sat 07 Aug 2010 at 13.30
Match was Drawn winning

Match report Table-topping Lewdown are now champions of the Devon D Division after securing a winning draw against a dogged Ottery St. Mary at the weekend. Lewdown were asked to bat after captain Charlie Hughes, for once, lost the toss. Openers Kris Harris (26) and Harry Geering (44) gave Lewdown their customary good start with an opening stand of 72 complementing each other perfectly. The scoring rate slowed for a while before Rob Mutch came in at the fall of the third wicket. Rob was sent in to 'up' the tempo and he did so with a quickfire 87 off 39 deliveries including 8 fours and 5 sixes. Well supported by Jack Scuse (48)the pair put on a stand of 105 which set Lewdown up for a respectable score of 242-8. Rob Mutch (4-30) then opened the bowling and ripped the top order apart and at one point Ottery St. Mary were reeling on 23-5. However, an obdurate middle order steadied the Ottery St. Mary ship and allowed the batsmen at the bottom of the order to accelerate and ensure the points for the losing draw. Lewdown were disappointed not to secure an outright win and made do with a winning draw but the points secured the championship with three more matches yet to be played. An outstanding performance from the Lewdown first team squad with outstanding performances throughout the season from all involved. Lewdown's next match is Feniton away on Saturday.

Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 8 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Kris Harris ct R. Johns 26 1
Harry Geering ct R. Bradshaw-Smith 44 1
Jack Skuse Run out  48
Mark Jordan Run out  5
Robert Mutch ct M. Woodman 87
Carl Weeks lbw M. Woodman 1 1
Phil Yeo ct W. Harrison 6
Ant Weeks b M. Woodman 0 2
Peter Cooper Not Out  0
Charlie Hughes Not Out  9
Adrian Edmonds  

Ottery St Mary Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
M. Woodman12.0152317.334.33
W. Harrison7.0038138.005.43
R. Johns11.0245145.004.09
R. Bradshaw-Smith13.0263163.004.85
N. Doman3.003600.0012.00

Ottery St Mary Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 8 wickets
165 (0.0 overs)
S. Forbes ct P. Yeo 1
A. Clements b R. Mutch 0
M. Kirk ct R. Mutch 6
G. Biggs b R. Mutch 12
J. Clements b R. Mutch 2
M. Woodman ct C. Hughes 14
R. Johns ct M. Jordan 26
N. Doman b A. Edmonds 9
S. Lynch Not Out  46
R. Bradshaw-Smith Not Out  38
W. Harrison  

Lewdown Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Robert Mutch13.033047.502.31
Phil Yeo13.0440140.003.08
Mark Jordan6.0120120.003.33
Adrian Edmonds6.0121121.003.50
Peter Cooper4.003300.008.25
Charlie Hughes4.0019119.004.75

  • Umpire :
    Dave Pearse
  • Scorer :
    Pauline Geering